MRS 2017 will feature a single-track, two-day program. All accepted papers will be presented within technical sessions. The program will also include inspiring keynote talks, tutorials, and a student poster session, in addition to social events to promote networking among peers.

Program Overview

Monday, 4 December 2017
8:00-8:45 Registration
8:45-9:00 Opening words
9:00-10:00 Keynote speaker: Ayanna Howard (chair: M. A. Hsieh)
10:00-10:30 Coffee break
10:30-11:15 Regular session: Communication (chair: R. Fitch)
11:15-12:00 Regular session: Coordination and control (chair: L. Sabattini)
12:00-13:30 Lunch
13:30-14:00 Invited speaker: Milind Tambe (chair: C. Amato)
14:00-15:00 Regular session: Localization (chair: A. Franchi)
15:00-15:30 Coffee break
15:30-16:00 Invited speaker: Vijay Kumar (chair: G. S. Sukhatme)
16:00-17:00 Regular session: Planning (chair: D. A. Shell)
Tuesday, 5 December 2017
8:30-9:30 Keynote speaker: Sonia Martinez (chair: L. Sabattini)
9:30-10:00 Regular session: Interaction with life (chair: D. A. Shell)
10:00-10:30 Coffee break
10:30-11:30 Keynote speaker: Brian Sadler (chair: N. Ayanian)
11:30-12:30 Regular session: Perception and state estimation (chair: R. Fitch)
12:30-14:00 Lunch and interactive session
14:00-14:10 Awards
14:10-14:50 Invited speaker: Lynne Parker (chair: G. S. Sukhatme)


Regular Sessions

Communication (chair: R. Fitch)
Phani Krishna Penumarthi, Alberto Quattrini Li, Jacopo Banfi, Nicola Basilico, Francesco Amigoni, Ioannis Rekleitis, Jason O’Kane, Srihari Nelakuditi “Multirobot Exploration for Building Communication Maps with Prior from Communication Models”
Venkatraman Renganathan, Tyler Summers “Spoof Resilient Coordination for Distributed Multi-Robot Systems”
Michael W. Otte, Michael J. Kuhlman, Donald Sofge “Multi-Robot Task Allocation with Auctions in Harsh Communication Environments”
Coordination and control (chair: L. Sabattini)
Jason Cody, Julie Adams “An Evaluation of Quorum Sensing Mechanisms in Collective Value-Sensitive Site Selection”
Salar Moarref, Hadas Kress-Gazit “Decentralized Control of Robotic Swarms from High-Level Temporal Logic Specifications”
Shauharda Khadka, Jen Jen Chung, Kagan Tumer “Memory-Augmented Multi-Robot Teams That Learn to Adapt”
Localisation (chair: A. Franchi)
Agostino Martinelli, Alessandro Renzaglia “Cooperative Visual-Inertial Sensor Fusion: Fundamental Equations”
Alicja Wasik, Alcherio Martinoli, Pedro U. Lima “A Robust Relative Positioning System for Multi-Robot Formations Leveraging an Extended GM-PHD Filter”
Titus Cieslewski, Davide Scaramuzza “Efficient Decentralized Visual Place Recognition from Full-Image Descriptors”
Trevor Halsted, Mac Schwager “Distributed Multi-Robot Localization from Acoustic Pulses Using Euclidean Distance Geometry”
Planning (chair: D. A. Shell)
Andrew Dobson, Kiril Solovey, Rahul Shome, Dan Halperin, Kostas E. Bekris “Scalable Asymptotically-Optimal Multi-Robot Motion Planning”
Yoann Solana, Michele Furci, Juan Cortes, Antonio Franchi “Multi-Robot Path Planning with Maintenance of Generalized Connectivity”
Aaron Ma, Jorge Cortes, Michael Ouimet “Dynamic Domain Reduction for Multi-Agent Planning”
Jingjin Yu “Expected Constant-Factor Optimal Multi-Robot Path Planning in Well-Connected Environments”
Interaction with life (chair: D. A. Shell)
Valeria Villani, Lorenzo Sabattini, Cristian Secchi, Cesare Fantuzzi “Natural Interaction Based on Affective Robotics for Multi-Robot Systems”
Haluk Bayram, Nikolaos Stefas, Kazim Selim Engin, Volkan Isler “Tracking Wildlife with Multiple UAVs: System Design, Safety and Field Experiments”
Perception and state estimation (chair: R. Fitch)
Philip Dames “Distributed Multi-Target Search and Tracking Using the PHD Filter”
Alyssa Pierson, Daniela Rus “Distributed Target Tracking in Cluttered Environments with Guaranteed Collision Avoidance”
Amir Hossein Tamjidi, Reza Oftadeh, Suman Chakravorty, Dylan Shell “Efficient Distributed State Estimation of Hidden Markov Models Over Unreliable Networks”
David Julian Saldana, Renato Assuncao, M. Ani Hsieh, Mario Montenegro Campos, Vijay Kumar “Cooperative Prediction of Time-Varying Boundaries with a Team of Robots”


Interactive Session

The following posters were selected and will be presented at the conference:

Michael Forrai, Graeme Best, Robert Fitch “Communication Planning for Decentralised Multi-Robot Coordination”
Lorenzo Sabattini, Cristian Secchi, Cesare Fantuzzi “Shaping the Force Feedback by Dynamic Scaling in the Teleoperation of Multi-Robot Systems”
Ovunc Tuzel, Julie Adams, Musad Haque “Communication Model Impact on Robot Swarm Task Performance”
Shuai David Han, Nicholas Stiffler, Kostas E. Bekris, Jingjin Yu “Efficient, High-Quality Stack Rearrangement”
Kevin Yu, Ashish Kumar Budhiraja, Pratap Tokekar “Algorithms for Routing of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles with Mobile Recharging Stations and for Package Delivery”
Elizabeth Boroson, Fei Sha, Nora Ayanian “Model-Free Policy Gradients for Multi-Agent Shape Formation”
Jason Ziglar, Ryan Williams, Al Wicks “Automated System Synthesis for Multi-Robot Systems”
Mingyu Wang, Zijian Wang, Shreyasha Paudel, Mac Schwager “Safe Distributed Lane Change Maneuvers for Multiple Autonomous Vehicles Using Buffered Input Cells”
Marco Tognon, Chiara Gabellieri, Lucia Pallottino, Antonio Franchi “Extended Abstract on Communication-less Aerial Co-Manipulation with Cables and the Fundamental role of Internal Force”
Sandeep Manjanna, Alberto Quattrini Li, Ryan N. Smith, Ioannis Rekleitis, Gregory Dudek “Adaptive Exploration and Sampling by Heterogeneous Robotic Team”
Jonathan West, Rafael Fierro “Improving Performance of Cloud-Based Heterogeneous Robot Teams Using Intermittent Hybrid Optical and Radio Communications”
Mohammadhussein Rafieisakhaei, Ali-akbar Agha-mohammadi, Suman Chakravorty, P. R. Kumar “Near-Optimal Decentralized Multi-Agent Design in Belief Space via MT-LQG”